Clown’s Pants

Since I bought 9 balls of Rico Creative Cotton, one in each colour, to make baby shoes for Luiza, I’ve been tempted to play with colours. I love cushions, blankets and afghans made in colourful granny-squares I see on Ravelry. Joined together in cream or white, they have a bright and happy look, but are not too heavy on the eyes.

My problem is that I am not exactly the kind of person who matches blue and orange, or green and red and think it looks good. I’m not bold like that.  I go for the safe dark or plain coloured items. And never the bright colours, no sir, apart from some pink baby dresses and stuff like that, but always with some white or just shades of pink.

This week I had the perfect excuse. On Sunday I remembered I needed a birthday present and didn’t have a clue what to buy. I wouldn’t have time either. But the birthday girl loves tea pots and I promised her a cosy a while ago (not sure if she remembers, but I do). When I asked if she’d like colourful or plain she gave the right answer: colourful.

Well, this is what I made.

On the colourful side =D

A little flower on the top.

A button to hold things in place. 

Ok, I didn’t put as much white or beiges as I should have, but since it’s a small item I thought it would be fine like that. My other half said “it is as colourful as a clown’s pants”. Well, I have never seen a clown’s pants, but I imagine they might be, let’s say… not boring.

I’ve decided to make some coasters to go with it, as a set.

Matching coasters to make it complete

Matching coasters to make it complete

I made granny-flowers, from granny circles with scalloped edges. I like them. The colours match the sequence of colours I used in the pot cosy.

The cosy pattern I’ve found here and the coasters are from the same blog, this post.

I have detailed notes (well, on my own gibberish) on the project page on Ravelry because I loved it so much I want one, too. It is very bright, I know, but I think it goes well with the white tea pot. It was really difficult to photograph, though. The orange lit up so much I thought I wouldn’t have any decent photos to post. Lots of experience gained from this one.

=D

2 thoughts on “Clown’s Pants

Leave a comment