A little abandonment

It’s been a long, long time since my last post. I’ve been trying to write drafts for posts, take photographs of my crochet, then edit the photos with the poor knowledge I have, make new things, finish the ones I’ve started and prepare for Christmas. All this while working full time, worrying about my NVQ and college. I have one assignment to hand in each week until we break for Christmas. There’s no time to do it all, so unfortunately the blog is staying behind.

I have also the mission of preparing myself to move in with my boyfriend, and that includes redecorating his house to make it ‘ours’, fight for my doilies and flowers and the right of having something pink (or mauve, or rose) in at least ONE room in the house.  Last Saturday we were looking for tiles and bathroom fittings. Luckily we have agreed on the tiles (style, colour and everything), which is a big win for both of us.

I won’t have as much time to prepare all the crochet I wanted for November and December. The idea was to have enough stock and in enough variety to open a little shop with my sister Annie and sell the surplus of our hobbies. Hopefully we will manage to do something to at least start, even if we don’t sell much at first. To me, at this point, it is more a matter of finish something, whatever it may be.

I always fought the idea of having crochet as a business, as source of income. Selling the surplus of my hobby is not necessarily a business, because the production will be defined by what I want to make and when, more than by a market demand (at least that’s the idea). I know that from the moment I fell the pressure of having to make a crochet item I don’t want to make, or when don’t feel particularly inspired t crochet, then it will cease to be a pleasure and it will become a chore. And i have enough chores for now, thank you.

So step by step, trying not to leave the blog behind, lost and in the darkness, I will do what I can to keep blog and crochet up to date, and finish all the obligations of a student and health care professional. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

